Creating Resumes using LaTeX – templates

I wrote about my current method of keeping my resume organized using LaTeX in this previous post, and I still love it. The combination of keeping things organized with a Google spreadsheet and perfectly consistent formatting using LaTeX means that I can update my resumes at least 10 times throughout the residency application season without breaking a sweat.

LaTeX resume sample output

What the resume looks like

I’ve decided to make a mock resume using the LaTeX template that I am using now and share it with the world. If you like how this looks, you can download the files below. When the resume fills with your information, it will likely look even better.

  1. Spreadsheet to organize the resume. Note if you put a ‘%’ tag in the left-most column, that row will be left out in the final PDF output. This is a convenient way to customize your resume for different audience.
  2. TeX file. There are some personal information fields in the front you should edit infrequently, such as when you change address or add new education diplomas.
  3. This resume template is dependent on the res.cls file, so you should save it to the same folder as your resume TeX files.

If you haven’t installed LaTeX, follow this link to find an installation for your operating system.

I started digging around for a good template for LaTeX resumes, and found this site to be simple and to the point. I adapted my current template from their “res8“.

Like I said before, using LaTeX to build resumes is rewarding but also quite easy to mess up. If you look at the TeX file, it should be obvious where your personal information should go, and how your resume should be copied over from the spreadsheet. Rule of thumb is, the more information you keep on the spreadsheet, the easier it would be to just copy and paste between resume versions.

Let me know if you run into any trouble.

One thought on “Creating Resumes using LaTeX – templates

  1. Pingback: Resume revamped | ZeroRatio

Leave a Reply

