Buy my stuff!

*Skip to the bold text below if you don’t want to read my rambling*

After years of living in the same house, it is easy to let things accumulate. Especially things that are sidelined by newer replacements so they are not used anymore, but aren’t broken so they aren’t thrown out either.

This is where Craigslist come in. I don’t know why it took me so long to become acquainted with this one-of-the-most-used site. It’s so much easier to post little things on Craigslist than on eBay, and so much more fitting for my purposes (an Internet garage sale). It only makes sense to sell my things locally; a buyer from the east coast of USA asked me about a $150 stereoset I put on Craigslist, so I looked up the shipping cost and outright told him to give up… it would cost $450 to ship a $150 item!

Anyway, I have had mixed success with my Craigslist ads. I managed to sell a few things, but the time and energy spent to make these dingy dollars are not worth it mathematically. I still do it though, partly because I would hate to throw out perfectly fine items when there are people who could potentially make use of them.

Anyway, tonight I went on facebook and a friend started chatting. I talked about selling stuff on Craigslist, and he got really interested. I think he might just be bored and was curious what my closet held, but that got me thinking: what if more of my friends are like him? What if my friends who aren’t actively looking to buy an iPod touch saw my iPod touch for sale, and thought maybe they could use it?

By selling on Craigslist, I am reaching a wider audience who is looking for the stuff I am selling. But by selling to my friends, I am tapping into the social networking potential. My things aren’t just things to my friends; they are “things that my friends used to treasure”. I bought a set of bicycle pedals off a friend just like that.

Instead of posting dozens of items on my wall individually and risk losing my friends’ respect, though, I will just create a list here.

As a special perk, if you bought anything off the list here, I will give you a surprise gift — a token of thanks for proving that my social networking isn’t all just a big waste of time.

 

Here goes!

Electronics

Cellphones

Computer

MISC

Books

Title: Intro stats

Author: De veaux, velleman, bock

Edition: 3 Institute: UBC (University of British Columbia)

Price: 90.00 ISBN: 9780321500458

Comments: Minimal highlighting, pages and cover like new, has CD Includes the student solutions manual

Title: Human physiology from cell to system

Author: Sherwood

Edition: First Canadian edition

Price: 120.00 ISBN: 9780176441074

Comments: Excellent condition like new. Online access unopened.

Title: Physical chemistry

Author: Ira N. Levine

Edition: 6

Price: 120.00 ISBN: 9780072538625

Comments: Like new! Cover, pages in perfect condition. No writing of any kind.

Title: Landmarks a process reader

Author: Birks

Edition: 2

Price: 20.00

Comments: Slightly worn but no marking of any kind

Title: A short guide to writing about biology

Author: Pechenik

Edition: 6

Price: 10.00

Comments: Bought used but in great condition

Title: The adaptive mind

Author: Lindsay, paulhus, nairne

Edition: 3rd Canadian

Price: 25.00 ISBN: 9780176435752

Comments: Contains chapter 1-8.

Title: Mirror for Humanity (A concise intro to cultural anthropology)

Author: Conrad Phillip Kottak

Edition: 5

Price: 35.00

Comments: Excellent condition. No highlights, markings, or any other damages. Add $10 to get “Windows on the World” by Fedorak.

Title: the little brown handbook

Author: h.ramse fowler, jane aaron, murray mcarthur

Edition: 5th canadian edition

Price: 30.00

Comments: like brand new, no markings at all

Title: Drugs and Behavior – An Introduction to Behavioral Pharmacology

Author: McKim, William A.

Edition: 5

Price: 60.00

Comments: In great condition, no damages.

Title: The Broadview Anthology of Poetry

Author: Rosengarten and Goldrick-Jones

Price: 20.00

Comments: Has some writing, but otherwise in good condition.

Title: Physics for Scientists and Engineers (Vol 1-5)

Author: Randall D. Knight

Edition: 1 Price: 45.00

Comments: Comes in a boxed set. Price is a bargain! 1st ed. is almost identical to 2nd.

Title: ADTs, Data Structures, and Problem Solving with C++

Author: Larry Nyhoff

Edition: 2

Price: 70.00

Comments: Excellent condition, hard cover. No highlighting or any markings.

Title: Physical chemistry for the biosciences

Author: Raymond Chang

Price: 60.00 ISBN: 9781891389337

Comments: Like new. No marking, highlights, etc.

Title: Introduction to Genetic Analysis w/ Solution Megamanual

Author: Griffiths

Edition: 9

Price: 85.00

Contact Person: Billy

Comments: Great condition, no markings.

Title: Exercise Testing and Exercise prescription for special cases

Author: Skinner

Edition: 3

Price: 50.00

Contact Person: Billy

Comments: Excellent condition, no marking at all

Title: How to Think Straight About Psychology

Author: Keith E. Stanovich

Edition: 8

Price: 10.00

Contact Person: Billy

Comments: Great condition

3 thoughts on “Buy my stuff!

  1. LOL @ ur TI-83
    Hey everyone! I’m selling it for $50! Do not buy his. (evil laughter :P)

  2. Lol really?
    Well, you need to leave your contact if you want to undercut me. But I believe you are selling yours too cheap 😉 look around craigslist first!

  3. Pingback: Hello Scammer | ZeroRatio

Leave a Reply

