Yeah you put that on your resume

Kids our age, we’d kill for a great resume that we believe will determine the course of our lives. As a failed appilcant to Ivy League schools, I used to be thoroughly frustrated with how pathetic my resume was, and set my goal in life as beefing that piece of paper up.

But slowly, I can feel my take on the resume slowly changing over the course of a couple of years. What titles I had to put on the resume don’t seem to matter, compared to what I’ve done with those titles.

In first year, a good friend said something that made me think: “I don’t care what I’m called, I just want to do good things.”

In second year, I exploded my campus involvement to cover VP Emerging Leaders, CSSS Executive, Peer Academic Coaching, joined clubs, fixed broken bikes, among others. But I don’t seem to have grasped that philosophy of action over title. I knew there is a difference between “ok, now that I am ____, I guess I should do something” and “I want to do these things, and now that I am ____, I can finally do them!” and I ask myself at nights what mindset I am in.

In third year, another good friend said: “you get as much out of it as you put into it.”

How true. The titles are empty and hollow until you make use of them, do things with them, fill them up with great stories that you would proudly share with others.

By the end of third year, at the age of teenager-status-withdrawal 20, I’m happy to find myself approaching this mode of thinking. I would happily choose to pursue projects that bring me no recognition over having a nice-looking title in an empty club. Now let’s hope my projects would work out fine, but even if they don’t, I would still have wonderful stories to tell πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Yeah you put that on your resume

  1. It takes a while before you realize what the employers are really looking for on your resume. Having a bunch of fascinating title and experiences listed on the resume can only attract their attention temporarily. If you can’t explain what you’ve done or what you got out of that particular experience, then it’s difficult for them to know where your passion lies or what your strengths are.

    Good to see that you’ve gone pass the stage of pursuing for title. It’s now time to do things that you really want to do and put that on resume to show the employers who you really are.

  2. It’s not a sudden change in attitude, if I made it sound that way in my post. It’s a continual process that I am coming to realize is happening. I can’t pinpoint when I switched from one mindset to another, and I won’t say there was a stage at which I was pursuing for title and another stage at which I am pursuing for experience.
    It’s just a really subtle self-realization that I wanted to document and share πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

