What now?

If I choose a template that shows the tag line of ZeroRatio, you will see:

“A blog about everything is a blog about nothing. Oops.”

which is true. In the past month I’ve been writing about whatever comes to mind, playing little games with my blog traffic here, telling little stories in different languages there, fun stuff.

But when I look around for the most visited blogs, I notice they all have one thing in common: they focus on one topic. Maybe it’s advances in science, maybe it’s debates over religion/politics, maybe it’s someone’s travel blog. I seldom come across personal blogs that are consistently popular, unless they have a consistent theme or writing style.

Which makes sense, because why would anyone come back to read this blog if they don’t know what will be up next? Those who like science might bookmark the science blog, those who like politics might bookmark the politics blog. Those who like a blogger probably like his or her style/content, which can never happen if the blogger changes all the time.

Without consistency, the only consistent visitors to a blog will be the blogger’s friends. Without many consistent visitors, a blog’s traffic can only linger around the bottom. (Unless, of course, a right post at the right time causes a traffic surge, but that’s bound to subdue.)

So what do I do now? Pick a theme and fix my attention?

Nah, that might be good for the blog traffic, but that won’t be fun for me. This blog will continue to be about everything in general, nothing in particular. I guess my readers would just have to bear with me, and be ready for surprises.

4 thoughts on “What now?

  1. Hmm I don’t quite understand why you are so worried about blog traffic…

    No don’t pick a theme!

    zeroratio:
    Cuz I had some pretty neat discussion with some new visitors about my posts, which would not have happened if I didn’t get more exposure. Besides, traffic is the power of a blog 😉
    Yeah, I won’t pick a theme. I won’t even pick a language, for that matter.

  2. Where is the story that you promised?

    zeroratio:
    It’s coming along, but I need to find a good place to stop the section and do some editing before I can post it.
    Patience is a virtue, my friend 🙂

  3. yeah, there are some really great theme blogs out there. Although they attracts lots of traffic, it is at the same time more difficult to maintain. Say you chooose technology as the theme, you will need to constantly update yourself with technological news and provides some insight with your knowledge. Without insight, people would probably prefer to read the news.

    zeroratio:
    Yup, and it’ll be boring so even if I decided to follow one theme, I will probably stop writing altogether 😛

  4. Pingback: What my readers want « ZeroRatio

Leave a Reply

