Slightly confusing feature of wordpress: category vs. tags

As a new user of WordPress, I was confused. There is this “category” thing that you can use to describe your post, and then there’s this “tag” thing that you can also use to describe your post. You can use multiple categories to describe one post. You can also use multiple tags to describe one post. You can display both categories and tags on the side bar.

So what the hell?

Thankfully, WordPress has a very friendly FAQ, and I painlessly found this. It didn’t say much though, and I still don’t know whether I should categorize this post as geek talk or tag it so.

(also confusing is that I changed my WordPress clock to reflect my actual time zone, so this post became “older” than the posts I published hours ago. Fun.)

* * *

It turned out that enough people found this blog by searching “wordpress tags vs category” for me to add this post, on top of the above rant.

7 thoughts on “Slightly confusing feature of wordpress: category vs. tags

  1. categories are the main ones you have in your blog. for instance, if you write about blogging a lot, you’d want to create a ‘blogging’ category. tags are for one-off topics. if you want to write about earning money through blogging, but you’re not going to write about it anytime soon, you could tag it with ‘money.’

  2. Pingback: Never expected WordPress to be this active « ZeroRatio

  3. Pingback: Confused by wordpress’ category vs. tags? You’re not the only one. « ZeroRatio

  4. marinmon and sulz:
    Wow, I was not expecting to see sulz replying here! I was about to go over to sulz’ blog to leave her a message 🙂

  5. i saw her comment through the feature ‘my comments’ that we all have in our dashboards, which was why i was able to reply her so quickly. 😉

Leave a Reply

